SIMonline

Service receive & sending SMS

Windows Technical Support Fraud

282   |     /   Security

Windows Technical Support Fraud
Have you ever seen a warning that you should contact Windows Technical Support? Or did you get a phone call from someone who claims to work for Microsoft? They have been a constant threat for many years, but Microsoft is resisting.



If you need to register an account on a suspicious site or accept a suspicious SMS, it is better to use virtual SIM cards provided on our service.

Police in India have organized coordinated raids on dubious technical support centers. 100 officers descended at 16 different sites. The raids led to the arrest of 39 people who impersonated employees of Microsoft, HP, Dell, Google, and even Apple to trick victims abroad.

According to senior police superintendent Ajay Pal Sharma, the scammers “got money from thousands of victims, most of whom were Americans or Canadians.” Microsoft alone has received more than 7,000 complaints from its users.

Windows fraudulent support can be incredibly profitable. A recent Microsoft overclock in India said the average payment is usually between $ 150 and $ 499. Applying the average only to victims who reported the incident to Microsoft totaled more than $ 2.2 million.

These scammers pretended to be representatives of four other major technology companies, so this criminal enterprise could easily go to Europe. And this is only for victims who called to report the incident, or thought they were dealing with a legitimate service problem.

Many victims of technical support fraud - especially if they are older - do not want to talk about what happens after a fait accompli. This is a big reason why Microsoft and AARP joined forces back in 2016.

This latest raid is the second successful operation in just two months. In mid-October, authorities went down to 10 other call centers and made 24 arrests. Many evidence was seized, including call records, chat logs, and even scripts that fraudsters use to manipulate their potential victims.

Microsoft notes that over the past 12 months, nearly 60% of consumers interacted with scammers from technical support. It will be interesting to see how much will be done over the next 12 months.


Similar news


Microsoft Edge browser will be powered by Google Chrome

Internet Explorer once ran the World Wide Web. Over time, IE languished and was knocked down by Firefox and Google Chrome. Microsoft then resisted with a new browser called Edge.

New Android virus manages PayPal accounts

ESET security researchers have discovered a new dangerous Android Trojan that masquerades as a performance-enhancing application. His goal: robbing a victim blindly by gaining access to PayPal accounts. Even two-factor authentication accounts are not secure.

The worst passwords of 2018

Making a really good password is not easy. Worse, this is a task that many people find not so important. You only need to look at the list of the most common passwords of this year for proof.



SIMONLINE.SU

This is not only a service for receiving and sending SMS messages to virtual numbers, but also a tutorial on user safety in the modern world, the latest developments in IT, social media security, fresh programs and lessons that simplify our lives. So are other issues encountered by the average user. In simple words, each user will find for themselves something interesting or answers to their questions.

SIMonline © 2018 - 2020

All rights reserved

SIMonline

Сервис приема & отправки SMS

Мошенничество на службе технической поддержки Windows

186   |     /   Security

Мошенничество на службе технической поддержки Windows
Вы когда-нибудь видели предупреждение о том, что вам следует обратиться за технической поддержкой Windows? Или получил телефонный звонок от кого-то, кто утверждает, что работает на Microsoft? Они были постоянной угрозой в течение многих лет, но Microsoft сопротивляется.



Если нужно зарегистрировать аккаунт на подозрительном сайте или принять подозрительное смс, лучше использовать виртуальные сим карты предоставленные на нашем сервисе.

Полиция в Индии организовала скоординированные рейды на сомнительные центры технической поддержки. 100 офицеров спустились на 16 различных объектах. Рейды привели к аресту 39 человек, которые выдавали себя за сотрудников Microsoft, HP, Dell, Google и даже Apple, чтобы обмануть жертв за рубежом.

По словам старшего суперинтенданта полиции Аджая Пала Шармы, мошенники «добыли деньги у тысяч жертв, большинство из которых были американцами или канадцами». Одна только Microsoft получила более 7000 жалоб от своих пользователей.

Мошенническая поддержка в Windows может быть невероятно прибыльной. В заявлении Microsoft о недавнем разгоне в Индии говорится, что средний платеж обычно составляет от 150 до 499 долларов. Применение среднего только к жертвам, которые сообщили об инциденте в Microsoft, в общей сложности составляет более 2,2 миллиона долларов.

Эти мошенники выдавали себя за представителей еще четырех крупнейших технологических компаний, так что это преступное предприятие могло легко перейти на Европу. И это только для жертв, которые звонили, чтобы сообщить об инциденте, или думали, что они занимаются законной проблемой обслуживания.

Многие жертвы мошенничества с технической поддержкой - особенно если они старше - не хотят говорить о том, что происходит после свершившегося факта. Это большая причина, почему Microsoft и AARP объединили свои усилия еще в 2016 году.

Этот последний рейд является второй успешной операцией всего за два месяца. В середине октября власти спустились в 10 других колл-центров и произвели 24 ареста. Было изъято множество улик, включая записи звонков, журналы чата и даже сценарии, которые мошенники используют для манипулирования своими потенциальными жертвами.

Microsoft отмечает, что за последние 12 месяцев почти 60% потребителей взаимодействовали с мошенниками из службы технической поддержки. Будет интересно посмотреть, сколько будет сделано в течение следующих 12 месяцев.


Похожие новости


Браузер Microsoft Edge будет на базе Google Chrome

Когда-то Internet Explorer управлял Всемирной паутиной. Со временем IE томился и был сбит с ног Firefox и Google Chrome. Затем Microsoft сопротивлялась новым браузером под названием Edge.

Новый Android вирус управляет PayPal счетами

Исследователи в области безопасности ESET обнаружили новый опасный троян Android, который маскируется под приложение, повышающее производительность. Его цель: ограбить жертву вслепую, получив доступ к счетам PayPal. Даже учетные записи с двухфакторной аутентификацией не являются безопасными.

Наихудшие пароли 2018 года

Придумать действительно хороший пароль нелегко. Хуже того, это задача, которую многие люди считают не такой уж важной. Вам нужно только посмотреть список наиболее распространенных паролей этого года для доказательства.



SIMONLINE.SU

Это не только сервис приема и отправки СМС сообщений на виртуальные номера, но еще и туториал по безопасности пользователей в современном мире, новинки разработок в IT сфере, безопасность в социальных сетях, свежие программы и уроки упрощающие нашу жизнь. Так же и другие вопросы встречающиеся у рядового пользователя. Простыми словами, каждый пользователь найдет для себя что то интересное или ответы на свои вопросы.

SIMonline © 2018 - 2020

All rights reserved