SIMonline

Service receive & sending SMS

Google Shields Chromebook from USB Attacks

290   |     /   Programs

Google Shields Chromebook from USB Attacks
The ubiquity of USB has made it a common cyber attack vector. The criminal can approach the car, calmly insert the USB flash drive into the PC without causing suspicion, and damage the entire network. It only takes a few seconds, but the damage done may be permanent.



Do not indicate your phone number on any sites requiring SMS confirmation, use our specialized service, we will help you figure out how to get SMS via the Internet.

That's why Google is taking action to protect Chromebook users. The company has developed a simple but effective configuration of the Chrome operating system, which will greatly complicate their hacking through USB ports.

The function is called USBGuard. Simply put, it prevents any USB devices from interacting with Chrome OS if the system is locked. Ports can provide power to a malicious flash drive or mouse, but USBGuard will prevent any code from executing.

Of course, this is not a reliable solution. There is always a chance that you can sit down at the table with a Chromebook, not notice that someone has connected something, and log back in. This may open the door for malware to enter your system.

However, it’s quite easy to develop the habit of checking your computer for obvious signs of hacking before you start using it. The security of your data is worth a second (or its share) to look at its ports and make sure that everything looks as it should.

USBGuard will appear on the Chromebook in the near future. For now, users who want to try it can enable it by opening the chrome: // flags page.

The concept of USBGuard should sound familiar. This is very similar to the Apple feature implemented on the iPhone and iPad, which was designed to prevent certain hardware screen lock bypasses. If the iPhone or iPad has been idle for more than an hour, iOS now requires users to unlock their devices before allowing a USB connection.


Similar news


How to secure Internet devices

We are all connected. This is not just a warm and fuzzy expression of feelings, it is the reality of the digital world in which we live. This connection provides great benefits, but it can also make us vulnerable to those who prey on any identified weaknesses. Hackers and other attackers target unprotected networks to attack and steal our personal devices for use in criminal activities.

How to evaluate and improve the security of your site

There was a time when people and companies simply abandoned sites, hoping that no one would hack their contents or install malware on the site.

Microsoft wants you to know what data you have

While Facebook and other tech giants are tackling data privacy issues, Microsoft is working on a new project called Bali, designed to give users more control over the data they collect on the Internet.



SIMONLINE.SU

This is not only a service for receiving and sending SMS messages to virtual numbers, but also a tutorial on user safety in the modern world, the latest developments in IT, social media security, fresh programs and lessons that simplify our lives. So are other issues encountered by the average user. In simple words, each user will find for themselves something interesting or answers to their questions.

SIMonline © 2018 - 2020

All rights reserved

SIMonline

Сервис приема & отправки SMS

Google Shields Chromebook от USB-атак

296   |     /   Программы

Google Shields Chromebook от USB-атак
Повсеместное распространение USB сделало его распространенным вектором кибератак. Преступник может подойти к машине, хладнокровно вставить флешку в ПК, не вызывая подозрений, и нанести ущерб всей сети. Это займет всего несколько секунд, но нанесенный ущерб может быть постоянным.



Не указывайте свой телефон ни на каких сайтах, требующих подтверждение по смс, воспользуйтесь нашим специализированным сервисом, мы поможем разобраться в том как получить смс через интернет.

Вот почему Google принимает меры для защиты пользователей Chromebook. Компания разработала простую, но эффективную настройку операционной системы Chrome, которая значительно затруднит их взлом через USB-порты.

Функция называется USBGuard. Проще говоря, он предотвращает взаимодействие любых USB-устройств с Chrome OS, если система заблокирована. Порты могут обеспечивать питание вредоносной флешки или мыши, но USBGuard предотвратит выполнение любого кода.

Конечно, это не надежное решение. Всегда есть вероятность, что вы сможете сесть за стол с Chromebook, не заметить, что кто-то что-то подключил, и снова войти в систему. Это может открыть путь для проникновения вредоносных программ в вашу систему.

Тем не менее, довольно легко выработать привычку проверять свой компьютер на наличие явных признаков взлома, прежде чем начать его использовать. Безопасность ваших данных стоит секунды (или ее доли), чтобы взглянуть на ее порты и убедиться, что все выглядит так, как должно.

USBGuard появится на Chromebook в ближайшем будущем. На данный момент пользователи, которые хотят попробовать его, могут включить его, открыв страницу chrome://flags.

Концепция USBGuard должна звучать знакомо. Это очень похоже на функцию Apple, реализованную на iPhone и iPad, которая была разработана для предотвращения определенных аппаратных обходов блокировки экрана. Если iPhone или iPad простаивают более часа, iOS теперь требует, чтобы пользователи разблокировали свои устройства, прежде чем разрешить USB-соединение.


Похожие новости


Как обезопасить интернет устройства

Мы все связаны. Это не просто теплое и нечеткое выражение чувств, это реальность цифрового мира, в котором мы живем. Эта связь дает большие преимущества, но также может сделать нас уязвимыми для тех, кто будет охотиться на любую выявленную слабость. Хакеры и другие злоумышленники нацеливаются на незащищенные сети, чтобы атаковать и похищать наши личные устройс...

Как оценить и улучшить безопасность вашего сайта

Было время, когда люди и компании просто забрасывали сайты, надеясь что никто не взломает их содержимое или не установит вредоносное ПО на сайт.

Microsoft хочет, чтобы вы знали, какие данные у вас есть

В то время как Facebook и другие технические гиганты занимаются вопросами конфиденциальности данных, Microsoft работает над новым проектом под названием «Бали», предназначенным для того, чтобы предоставить пользователям больший контроль над данными, собираемыми о них в Интернете.



SIMONLINE.SU

Это не только сервис приема и отправки СМС сообщений на виртуальные номера, но еще и туториал по безопасности пользователей в современном мире, новинки разработок в IT сфере, безопасность в социальных сетях, свежие программы и уроки упрощающие нашу жизнь. Так же и другие вопросы встречающиеся у рядового пользователя. Простыми словами, каждый пользователь найдет для себя что то интересное или ответы на свои вопросы.

SIMonline © 2018 - 2020

All rights reserved