SIMonline

Service receive & sending SMS

Microsoft Windows XP 2019 Update

250   |     /   Programs

Microsoft Windows XP 2019 Update
Microsoft has issued a warning about a very dangerous flaw that exists in older versions of Windows. Vulnerability can lead to the emergence of new self-propagating malware that strikingly resembles the infamous WannaCry, which damaged systems around the world in 2017.



Creating a whatsapp account without a phone number is very easy, you just need to buy a virtual SIM card on the SIMonline website and receive an SMS with a confirmation code online in your account.

Weakness was discovered in a Windows component called Remote Desktop Services (formerly called Terminal Services). It is mainly used in corporate environments such as government agencies and large corporations.

According to Simon Pope, director of incident response at Microsoft, exploiting the vulnerability does not require user intervention, and this happens before Windows can request any credentials. This is an incredibly volatile combination.

Fortunately, this only affects older versions of Windows. If your systems are running Windows 8 or Windows 10, you have nothing to fear. But Windows Server 2008, 2008 R2, and 2003 are also affected.

So is Windows XP. Yes, there are still computers running Windows XP. A lot of them. In fact, about 1.7% of all Windows computers that are connected to the Internet still use an outdated OS. In the US, this percentage is falling slightly below 1%, but this is still alarming, given the total number of computers that are online. It is for this small percentage that Microsoft released the Windows XP 2019 update.

Why is this so disturbing? Since Windows XP was released for retail channels in October 2001. Microsoft discontinued long-term support for Windows XP in 2014. Theoretically, the termination of long-term support for a piece of software means the termination of security fixes and bug fixes.

However, almost 20 years later, Microsoft released another critical patch for an operating system that refuses to die. The update must be installed manually, so if you still own or manage any computers with Windows XP (or Server 2003 servers), you must immediately download the installer - update for Windows XP 2019.

It is very important that the update is also installed quickly. Now that the download is available, cybercriminals can (and will) start reverse engineering to figure out how to exploit the vulnerability in Remote Desktop Services.

We hope that lessons have been learned from WannaCry and system administrators will act immediately. If they do not, we will have another round of sensational headlines about cyber attacks.


Similar news


Vulnerability of GE Power Meter

GE Communicator software has several vulnerabilities, including hardcoded credentials and privilege escalation deficiencies, ICS-CERT reported.

Hundreds of Git Vaults Have Been Hacked

Cybercriminals erase the repositories of GitHub, GitLab and Bitbucket and ask their owners to pay a ransom for data recovery. Vulnerable Git service providers believe that cybercriminals used compromised credentials to access their accounts.

AdBlock Vulnerability Endangers Users

People use ad blockers for a number of reasons. Some block ads because of annoyance or frustration. Others do this to protect their privacy or to keep malicious ads out of the way. Millions did not know that their desire to block content opened the door to cyber attacks.



SIMONLINE.SU

This is not only a service for receiving and sending SMS messages to virtual numbers, but also a tutorial on user safety in the modern world, the latest developments in IT, social media security, fresh programs and lessons that simplify our lives. So are other issues encountered by the average user. In simple words, each user will find for themselves something interesting or answers to their questions.

SIMonline © 2018 - 2020

All rights reserved

SIMonline

Сервис приема & отправки SMS

Обновление Windows XP 2019 от Microsoft

24   |     /   Программы
Обновление Windows XP 2019 от Microsoft
Microsoft опубликовала предупреждение об очень опасном недостатке, который существует в более старых версиях Windows. Уязвимость может привести к появлению нового самораспространяющегося вредоносного ПО, которое поразительно напоминает печально известный WannaCry, который нанес ущерб системам по всему миру в 2017 году.



Создать аккаунт whatsapp без номера телефона очень легко, просто нужно купить виртуальную сим карту на сайте СИМонлайн и принять смс с кодом подтверждения онлайн в личном кабинете.

Слабость была обнаружена в компоненте Windows под названием «Службы удаленных рабочих столов» (который раньше назывался «Службы терминалов»). Он в основном используется в корпоративных условиях, таких как государственные учреждения и крупные корпорации.

По словам Саймона Поупа, директора Microsoft по реагированию на инциденты, использование уязвимости не требует вмешательства пользователя, и это происходит до того, как Windows получит возможность запросить какие-либо учетные данные. Это невероятно изменчивая комбинация.

К счастью, это влияет только на старые версии Windows. Если ваши системы работают под управлением Windows 8 или Windows 10, вам нечего бояться. Но Windows Server 2008, 2008 R2 и 2003 также затронуты.

Так же и Windows XP. Да, еще есть компьютеры под управлением Windows XP. Много их. Фактически, около 1,7% всех компьютеров Windows, которые подключены к Интернету, все еще используют устаревшую ОС. В США этот процент снижается чуть ниже 1%, но это все еще вызывает тревогу, учитывая общее количество компьютеров, которые находятся в сети. Именно для этого малого процента Microsoft выпустили обновление Windows XP 2019.

Почему это так тревожно? Поскольку Windows XP была выпущена для каналов розничной торговли в октябре 2001 года. Microsoft прекратила долгосрочную поддержку Windows XP в 2014 году. Теоретически прекращение долгосрочной поддержки части программного обеспечения означает прекращение исправлений безопасности и исправление ошибок.

Тем не менее, почти 20 лет спустя Microsoft выпустила еще один критический патч для операционной системы, которая отказывается умирать. Обновление необходимо установить вручную, поэтому, если вы все еще являетесь владельцем или управляете какими-либо компьютерами с Windows XP (или серверами Server 2003), вы должны немедленно загрузить установщик - обновление Windows XP 2019.

Очень важно, чтобы обновление также было установлено быстро. Теперь, когда загрузка доступна, киберпреступники могут (и будут) начинать реверс-инжиниринг, чтобы выяснить, как использовать уязвимость в службах удаленных рабочих столов.

Надеемся, что уроки были извлечены из WannaCry и системные администраторы будут действовать немедленно. Если они этого не сделают, нас ждет очередной раунд сенсационных заголовков о кибератаках.

Похожие новости


Уязвимость GE Power Meter

Программное обеспечение GE Communicator подвержено нескольким уязвимостям, в том числе наличию жестко закодированных учетных данных и недостаткам повышения привилегий, сообщило ICS-CERT.

Сотни хранилищ Git были взломаны

Киберпреступники стирают репозитории GitHub, GitLab и Bitbucket и просят своих владельцев заплатить выкуп за восстановление данных. Уязвимые поставщики услуг Git считают, что злоумышленники использовали скомпрометированные учетные данные для доступа к учетным записям.

Уязвимость AdBlock ставит под угрозу пользователей

Люди используют блокираторы рекламы по ряду причин. Некоторые блокируют рекламу из-за раздражения или разочарования. Другие делают это, чтобы защитить свою конфиденциальность или держать вредоносную рекламу в подальше. Миллионы не знали, что их желание блокировать контент открывало двери кибератакам.



SIMONLINE.SU

Это не только сервис приема и отправки СМС сообщений на виртуальные номера, но еще и туториал по безопасности пользователей в современном мире, новинки разработок в IT сфере, безопасность в социальных сетях, свежие программы и уроки упрощающие нашу жизнь. Так же и другие вопросы встречающиеся у рядового пользователя. Простыми словами, каждый пользователь найдет для себя что то интересное или ответы на свои вопросы.

SIMonline © 2019

All rights reserved