SIMonline

Service receive & sending SMS

Disadvantages of VMware Patches

63   |     /   Programs
Disadvantages of VMware Patches
Security updates released by VMware for its vCloud Director, ESXi, Workstation, and Fusion products fix several vulnerabilities, including recently discovered at the Pwn2Own 2019 hacker competition.



Buy virtual numbers on the SIMonline website, very cheap and reliable numbers for registrations.

At Pwn2Own 2019, Amat Kama and Richard Zhu of the Fluoroacetate team demonstrated two VMware Workstation vulnerabilities, including one that was used in a complex exploit targeting the Microsoft Edge browser. They earned $ 70,000 for exiting the VMware Workstation virtual machine and executing code on the host's host operating system, and $ 130,000 for the Edge exploit.

VMware updates for ESXi, Workstation, and Fusion (MacOS only) address these shortcomings. The vendor described these issues as an unstable read / write vulnerability and Validation Time Error (TOCTOU) in the USB 1.1 virtual universal host interface (UHCI). The CVE identifiers CVE-2019-5518 and CVE-2019-5519 were assigned to these vulnerabilities, both of which are classified as critical.

VMware also fixed a critical out-of-band write vulnerability in the e1000 virtual network adapter used by Workstation and Fusion (macOS only). The security hole discovered by Chaitin Tech, a Chinese company, may allow a guest to execute arbitrary code on the host. This issue is tracked as CVE-2019-5524.

A similar flaw affecting the workstation and Fusion was discovered by ZhanluLab in the e1000 and e1000e virtual network adapters. Although exploiting this flaw can lead to code execution on the host from the guest operating system, a more likely result is a denial of service (DoS) condition for the guest. This issue has been assigned a severity level of “Important”.

VMware told customers that Fusion 11.x running on macOS is subject to a critical vulnerability that is being monitored as CVE-2019-5514. The flaw was reported to the company by an independent Chinese researcher who uses the online nickname CodeColorist and Hungarian researcher Csaba Fitzl.

“VMware Fusion contains a security vulnerability due to certain unauthenticated APIs accessible through a web socket. An attacker could exploit this problem by tricking the host user into running JavaScript to perform unauthorized functions on the guest machine on which VMware Tools is installed. It can also be used to execute commands on guest machines, ”VMware explained in his recommendation.

In a separate publication, VMware described a critical vulnerability affecting VMware vCloud Director for service providers. This flaw, tracked as CVE-2019-5523, affects vCD 9.5.x on any platform and allows a remote attacker to intercept sessions for the Tenant and Provider portals by personifying the current session that is logged on.

Similar news


Vulnerability of PowerFlex AC Drives

Rockwell Automation Allen Bradley PowerFlex 525 AC drives are subject to critical denial of service (DoS) vulnerabilities that allow hackers to gain control of devices.

Microsoft Antivirus for Mac

Microsoft takes the fight against malware seriously. So serious that the company just released an anti-virus application to protect computers created by one of its largest competitors, Apple.

Asus computers at risk

Do you have an ASUS computer? Researchers at Kaspersky Lab can share pretty gloomy news with you. One of the servers that delivers updates to your computer has been hacked and may have pushed dangerous malware into your system.



SIMONLINE.SU

This is not only a service for receiving and sending SMS messages to virtual numbers, but also a tutorial on user safety in the modern world, the latest developments in IT, social media security, fresh programs and lessons that simplify our lives. So are other issues encountered by the average user. In simple words, each user will find for themselves something interesting or answers to their questions.

SIMonline © 2020

All rights reserved

SIMonline

Сервис приема & отправки SMS

Недостатки патчей VMware

340   |     /   Программы

Недостатки патчей VMware
Обновления безопасности, выпущенные компанией VMware для ее продуктов vCloud Director, ESXi, Workstation и Fusion, исправляют несколько уязвимостей, в том числе недавно обнаруженных на конкурсе хакеров Pwn2Own 2019.



Виртуальные номера купить на сайте СИМонлайн, очень дешевіе и надежніе номера для регистраций.

На Pwn2Own 2019 Амат Кама и Ричард Чжу из команды Fluoroacetate продемонстрировали две уязвимости VMware Workstation, в том числе одну, которая была использована в сложном эксплойте, нацеленном на браузер Microsoft Edge. Они заработали 70 000 долларов за выход из виртуальной машины VMware Workstation и выполнение кода в базовой операционной системе хоста и 130 000 долларов за эксплойт Edge.

Обновления, выпущенные VMware для ESXi, Workstation и Fusion (только для MacOS), устраняют эти недостатки. Поставщик описал эти проблемы как нестабильную уязвимость чтения / записи и ошибку времени проверки (TOCTOU) в виртуальном универсальном интерфейсе хоста USB 1.1 (UHCI). Для этих уязвимостей были назначены идентификаторы CVE CVE-2019-5518 и CVE-2019-5519, причем оба они классифицированы как «критические».

VMware также исправила критическую уязвимость записи за пределами допустимого диапазона в виртуальном сетевом адаптере e1000, используемом Workstation и Fusion (только в macOS). Дыра безопасности, обнаруженная Чжанъянью из китайской компании Chaitin Tech, может позволить гостю выполнить произвольный код на хосте. Эта проблема отслеживается как CVE-2019-5524.

Аналогичный недостаток, влияющий на рабочую станцию ​​и Fusion, был обнаружен ZhanluLab в виртуальных сетевых адаптерах e1000 и e1000e. Хотя использование этого недостатка может привести к выполнению кода на хосте из гостевой операционной системы, более вероятным результатом является условие отказа в обслуживании (DoS) для гостя. Этому вопросу был присвоен уровень серьезности «важный».

VMware сообщила клиентам, что Fusion 11.x, работающий на macOS, подвержен критической уязвимости, которая отслеживается как CVE-2019-5514. О недостатке сообщили компании независимый китайский исследователь, который использует онлайн-прозвище CodeColorist и венгерский исследователь Csaba Fitzl.

«VMware Fusion содержит уязвимость безопасности из-за определенных неаутентифицированных API, доступных через веб-сокет. Злоумышленник может использовать эту проблему, обманув пользователя хоста для выполнения JavaScript для выполнения несанкционированных функций на гостевой машине, на которой установлен VMware Tools. Это может также использоваться для выполнения команд на гостевых машинах», - пояснил VMware в своей рекомендации.

В отдельной публикации VMware описала критическую уязвимость, затрагивающую VMware vCloud Director для поставщиков услуг. Этот недостаток, отслеживаемый как CVE-2019-5523, влияет на vCD 9.5.x на любой платформе и позволяет удаленному злоумышленнику перехватывать сеансы для порталов Tenant и Provider путем олицетворения текущего сеанса, вошедшего в систему.


Похожие новости


Уязвимость приводов переменного тока PowerFlex

Приводы переменного тока Allen Bradley PowerFlex 525 компании Rockwell Automation подвержены критической уязвимости отказа в обслуживании (DoS), которая позволяет хакерам получить контроль над устройствами.

Антивирус для Mac от Microsoft

Microsoft серьезно относится к борьбе с вредоносным ПО. Настолько серьезный, что компания только что выпустила антивирусное приложение для защиты компьютеров, созданных одним из крупнейших конкурентов, Apple.

Компьютеры Asus под угрозой

У вас есть компьютер ASUS? Исследователи из «Лаборатории Касперского» могут поделиться с вами довольно мрачными новостями. Один из серверов, который доставляет обновления на ваш компьютер, был взломан, и, возможно, он вытолкнул опасное вредоносное ПО в вашу систему.



SIMONLINE.SU

Это не только сервис приема и отправки СМС сообщений на виртуальные номера, но еще и туториал по безопасности пользователей в современном мире, новинки разработок в IT сфере, безопасность в социальных сетях, свежие программы и уроки упрощающие нашу жизнь. Так же и другие вопросы встречающиеся у рядового пользователя. Простыми словами, каждый пользователь найдет для себя что то интересное или ответы на свои вопросы.

SIMonline © 2018 - 2020

All rights reserved